Review: Melody of the Dark (The Chronicles of Midgard #2) by Melissa Sasina

on Oct 2, 2012
The door of the Valkyrie has been opened...

Maeja and her unlikely band of rebels and sky pirates have finally arrived at Brightstone. They need to get to the next treasure of the Gods, Thor's hammer, before the Empire does. If they can't get the hammer first, then the Empire is one step closer to awakening the dark god, Loki.

Seeking to get their hands on Thor's hammer, brothers Connor and Linkyn agree to enter the Honor Battles and publicly reveal themselves, as well as Maeja, to the Empire which hunts them.

However, the Empire proves to be only part of their troubles. There are murmurs that they have been followed to Brightstone by someone whose heart is far darker then the Empire...someone with eyes set on Maeja....

Genre: Fantasy

Review: Melody of the Dark picks up right where Falls the Shadow left off, Maeja, Ril, Conner, Linkyn and Mjrn are on a mission to save Midgard from a second Ragnarok. 

The epic fantasy continues with all the detail, adventure and mythology that the series began with. In this installment we are lead to more places in Midgard, including Dverdar cities and the Dokkalfar kingdom of Azrith. Many secrets of the empire are revealed, including several things about Severus. Readers will also be captivated by the Valkyrie, an especially intriguing part of the book. 

In this second installment the group has gotten passed introductions and we see them begin to blend together, work together, and occasionally . We learn a lot more about Boss, which was exciting. Also, we learn about Ril's past, the pirate is more than what he seems. 

The pacing was very good and I found this installment to have even more action and adventure than Falls the Shadow. 

The Chronicles of Midgard is a series you can't put down!

By the way, those of you on Team Ril will not be disappointed. ;)      

~ Important Links ~

About the Author: Born in 1982 in Cleveland, Ohio, Melissa has always been an avid lover of fantasy. 
The first book She began to write seriously for publication was The Priestess. It is currently undergoing reediting and will be re-released as both the individual books and as a one book collection, The Priestess: A Complete Collection. Her current book series is The Chronicles of Midgard, which will be a five book collection once completed.

About the reviewer: 
Mallory Farnham is a bookworm, book reviewer, fangirl, and writer. Since early 2012 she has been reviewing indie and traditionally published books at She enjoys reading, drinking tea, gaming, and writing. Connect with her on twitter and instagram @malloryfarnham


Post a Comment