on Jun 29, 2013
I would like to take a moment to share how much The Priestess Trilogy has changed since switching publishers. Not only has the story been revamped for the re-release and two of the titles changed, but the covers have been beautifully updated by fellow author T.L. Shreffler. (to learn more about T.L. Shreffler, please visit her website).

The Priestess Trilogy is set in ancient Ireland (also known as Éire in the series) and centers around the trials faced by Shiovra, High Priestess of the village Tara.

"High Priestess Shiovra will do all that is necessary to protect her village of Tara; even seek aid from the Milidh, an enemy clan born or war and vengeance. At her side is Odhrán, a Milidh warrior sworn to protect her. Hunted and attacked, Shiovra meets each challenge with DEFIANCE.

Yet it is soon discovered that not all is as it appears. Shiovra learns the truth about Odhrán while one of her own kin turns on her. Loyalty is questioned and enemy ranks face BETRAYAL.

As tensions escalate over control of the land known as Éire, the village of Tara is ripped apart as kin and clan turn on one another. Enemies become allies and the choice Shiovra makes will ultimately engulf the life she has known in irreversible ECLIPSE."




Currently, I have a select few copies of Defiance left from my book signing. If you would like a signed and dedicated copy of your own, please email me at mmsasina@gmail.com  Copies will be sold for $10 each (price includes shipping) and payments can be made via Paypal. To learn more about The Priestess Trilogy and the characters within please visit my website.

~Melissa Sasina, Independent Novelist
on Jun 18, 2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Genre(s): Young Adult / Paranormal / Romance

Series: Nightwatchers #1

Blurb: I don't do dangerous. 

Smart, uber-careful, ordinary Samantha-that's me. But I just couldn't pass up a surprise kiss from my number-one unattainable crush. A kiss that did something to me...something strange. Now I feel hungry all the time, but not for food. It's like a part of me is missing-and I don't know if I can get it back.

Then there's Bishop. At first I thought he was just a street kid, but the secrets he's keeping are as intense as his unearthly blue eyes. If he's what I think he is, he may be the only one who can help me. But something terrifying is closing in, and the one chance Bishop and I have to stop it means losing everything I ever wanted and embracing the darkness inside me....



Review: I'll be honest with you all, the blurb is not what drew me to this book. In fact, I mainly read it because of other works by the author that I have read and absolutely loved. That being said I was not disappointed! 

For some reason I haven't enjoyed some of the main characters that I've been reading lately. They've been very immature and annoying to read. I was so pleased that Samantha was not those things at all. She was a very believable main character that was so much fun to read because you were always on her side. She was a good person without being ridiculous. Her denial period was also much shorter than in most novels which I loved. Often when a main character finds out that there are vampire, werewolves, angels - insert supernatural creature here- they spend almost half of the book denying what is going on right in front of them. 

Bishop is Samantha's love interest (and something else but you have to read it to find out!). Michelle Rowen already gets major points from me for his rare name. Bishop was a fascinating character, the author gives us teasing hints about his past, but he's all the more interesting because he is more than he appears. 

Michelle Rowen delivers a very unique and odd take on heaven and hell, your soul, and angels and demons. Some of it was a bit too much for me personally but it made for a very interesting and unexpected read. 

I'm eagerly looking forward to reading the sequel, Wicked Kiss! 





About the reviewer: M. A. Bronson is a bookworm, book reviewer, and aspiring author. Since 2012 she has been reviewing indie and traditionally books at runawaypen.com. She spends her time reading, gaming, drinking tea, writing, and eagerly awaiting the next Hobbit movie. M lives in Upstate New York, and works at a library, happily surrounded by thousands of stories. Connect with her on twitter and instagram @theprincessmab

on Jun 17, 2013
Sunbolt releases today!

Sunbolt - Book One of the Sunbolt Chronicles

I love that cover. Just saying.

Available on Kindle, Nook, Kobo and good old print.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

~ Sunbolt ~

The winding streets and narrow alleys of Karolene hide many secrets, and Hitomi is one of them. Orphaned at a young age, Hitomi has learned to hide her magical aptitude and who her parents really were. Most of all, she must conceal her role in the Shadow League, an underground movement working to undermine the powerful and corrupt Arch Mage Wilhelm Blackflame.

When the League gets word that Blackflame intends to detain—and execute—a leading political family, Hitomi volunteers to help the family escape. But there are more secrets at play than Hitomi’s, and much worse fates than execution. When Hitomi finds herself captured along with her charges, it will take everything she can summon to escape with her life.

~ The Power of Word of Mouth ~

Reviews make the world go round for indie authors--actually, no. Reviews are just the tangible evidence of something much cooler, much, much more awesome, and possibly the sort of thing that makes the universe sing: the power of word-of-mouth. We really need a better name for that, but there you go. So, this is a huge THANK YOU to the early reviewers, and an advance Thank You to anyone who goes on to read and review Sunbolt as well, and talk about it with friends, and gift it to their grandmas (or friends). You make my universe sing.

~ Early Reviews ~

"Sunbolt is just beautiful -- exciting, endearing, full of amazing dialogue and heart-rending moments." -- Ann F., GoodReads review 5/7/2013

"The storyline was full of action, and Hitomi really did go through a lot during this story. Even when she was the smallest person there, she had the biggest character, and even when she found herself in several difficult situations, she always had a plan to change things for the better." - Sarah, GoodReads review 6/17/2013

~ Celebrate And Give ~

nurturetheearth_trialThis week, look out for some awesome book bloggers who will be talking about causes that concern them. Wait, what? "A Cause for Concern" is an internet event that celebrates the release. Sunbolt tells the story of Hitomi, a young woman with a propensity to play hero when people need saving, and her nemesis, a dark mage slowly amassing power in a bid to control the Eleven Kingdoms. Stories often have an issue at their heart, however big or small, global or personal. This week offers a chance for bloggers (and readers) who love stories to share the issues that are close to their hearts.

What do you wish you could change in the world? Join in and blog about what you care about as well. Visit one of the blogs below to get the rafflecopter code, or just drop me a note at booksbyintisar@gmail.com.

Check out these amazing bloggers, and enter to win a $100 donation to a non-profit or charity of your choice! There are also some neat additional prizes including a signed "Cause for Concern" art print  (pictured here) about caring for and nurturing our environment by author and artist T.L. Shreffler, as well as signed books by best-selling authors.

On June 17, look for posts here:






On June 20th, check out:


And on June 23rd, check out:


Thank you to everyone who has given their support, shared what they care about, and made my universe sing!

Intisar
on Jun 9, 2013
Northeastern Ohio fans! Melissa Sasina will be doing a book signing on Medina's Historic Square Friday June 21st from 10 am to 2 pm! Come celebrate reading with the "Reading Riot" hosted by the Medina County district Library and Project: LEARN of Medina! There will be children's activities, book clubs, author signings & book sales! Melissa will be selling copies of Falls the Shadow and Defiance as well as giving away bookmarks, postcards, and brochures! If you have any questions, you can ask Melissa on facebook or email her at mmsasina@gmail.com 

Hope to see you there!

Medina is located south of Cleveland and west of Akron. Take I-71 to State Route 18. Go west on Route 18, turn off on Jefferson Street, turn left on Liberty street to Medina's Historic Square.



on Jun 7, 2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars 

Genre(s): Young Adult / Fantasy / Paranormal

Series: The Ethereal Crossings #3

Blurb: Liv feels as if her problems are pulling her apart. Her new transformation has left her with powers she doesn’t want. Jared has decided to stay in Ellengale, but has started to get annoyingly possessive of her. Luke is still vanishing into Shadeland, and his trips are getting longer. There are more attacks in town, and Liv’s older brother Neeson seems to be involved. Desperate for help, Liv contacts the only person she thinks will help her; and Agent Tang comes running. But when they discover that the deaths are actually casualties of a war they need to find out whose war it is, and Liv hopes Neeson isn’t part of it. Because if he is, SILC will have a new target to make disappear. 




Review: Liv, Luke and Jared return in the thrilling 3rd installment of The Ethereal Crossings!

D. L. Miles has written another amazing novel! I'll try not to give away spoilers, but seeing as this is the third book in the series I might give a few things away. Sorry!

The story is well written and flows perfectly. Liv continues to be one of the best main characters I've read in a long time. She is slightly odd and reacts to things differently than most, you sort of never know what she'll do or say next. Which is awesome!

Things have changed between Jared and Liv (in a good way). My book crush on Jared lives on, of course. ;) I felt so bad when he was flirting with Liv and she was oblivious. It was really funny. 

The world that D. L. has created is so full of strange creatures and crazy surprises. The series has been planned out wonderfully and every book has left me wanting more. Which brings me tot he ending of this book. Oh my gosh! Major cliffhanger, I cannot wait until book four is out! 

Fans of Charlaine Harris and Holly Black will love D. L. Miles! 



D. L. Miles graduated fro Sheridan College and currently resides in Southern Ontario. She
enjoys Doctor Who marathons with her brother or perusing hair dye at the local drug store with
friends. She is a young adult author, always in fantasy and the like. She currently has three series on the go
and another in the works. She has made all three covers for her series, The Ethereal Crossings and her
novel, Shimmering.




About the Reviewer: M. A. Bronson is a bookworm, book reviewer, and aspiring author. Since 2012 she has been reviewing indie and traditionally published books at runawaypen.com. She enjoys reading, drinking tea, gaming, writing, and ardently shipping Snowing. M lives in Upstate New York, and works at a library, happily surrounded by thousands of books. Connect with her on twitter and instagram @theprincessmab