on Apr 1, 2015
Good day, runaway pen readers! Today we have something really awesome to share with you all. *Drum roll* Thorn by Intisar Khanani is on sale for 99 cents. That's right only 99 cents and the proceeds will go toward covering the adoption costs for two children, Evan and Raymond. More info and the links for Thorn can be found below. :) 


Nab Amazon bestselling YA Fantasy novel Thorn by Intisar Khanani for 99 cents April 1- 7 and help bring these two young brothers home. Described as "unflinching and exquisite," Thorn is a story of choice and betrayal, justice and compassion. Recommended for fans of Robin McKinley and Mercedes Lackey.
About Thorn 
Thorn_CoverFnlRevFNLF_low_res

For Princess Alyrra, choice is a luxury she’s never had … until she’s betrayed. 
 Princess Alyrra has never enjoyed the security or power of her rank. Between her family’s cruelty and the court’s contempt, she has spent her life in the shadows. Forced to marry a powerful foreign prince, Alyrra embarks on a journey to meet her betrothed with little hope for a better future. But powerful men have powerful enemies—and now, so does Alyrra. Betrayed during a magical attack, her identity is switched with another woman’s, giving Alyrra the first choice she’s ever had: to start a new life for herself or fight for a prince she’s never met. But Alyrra soon finds that Prince Kestrin is not at all what she expected. While walking away will cost Kestrin his life, returning to the court may cost Alyrra her own. As Alyrra is coming to realize, sometimes the hardest choice means learning to trust yourself.
About Evan & Raymond
brothers2
This sale is also about Intisar's good friend, Jamie, and the two little boys she and her husband are in the process of trying to adopt. Evan (age 7) and Raymond (age 9) are biological brothers, both born with Saethre-Chotzen Syndrome--a condition that results in brain damage if left untreated. They were each given up at birth, and were unable to receive treatment for their condition. These brothers have lived in an orphanage in Eastern Europe their whole lives. As boys who are older and struggle with developmental disabilities, it's almost impossible to find adoptive families for them. But Jamie has her heart set on bringing them home, and this sale is about helping that happen.
All of the proceeds from Thorn's 99 cent sale are going towards that adoption. Our goal is to raise $2,000 over the course of the week. International adoption is prohibitively expensive (often over $20,000), so every dollar makes a difference... You can find out more about the boys and Jamie, and link to their blog, here: http://reecesrainbow.org/83163/sponsorallison-3
And today, your help can make this goal a reality. Please share, tweet, and/or re-blog this post, and buy and give "Thorn" as a gift to friends and family! You can also invite your friends to the "Thorn Flash Sale" event on Facebook. Help us bring Evan and Raymond home.
Thorn is currently on sale for only 99 cents at all of these e-retailers:

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Genre(s): Young Adult / Historical / Science Fiction / Romance

Series: The Madman's Daughter Trilogy Book #2

Blurb: Months have passed since Juliet Moreau returned to civilization after escaping her father's island—and the secrets she left behind. Now back in London, she is rebuilding the life she once knew and trying to forget Dr. Moreau's horrific legacy—though someone, or something, hasn't forgotten her.

As people close to Juliet fall victim one by one to a murderer who leaves a macabre calling card of three clawlike slashes, Juliet fears one of her father's creations may have also made it off the island. She is determined to find the killer before Scotland Yard does, thought it means awakening sides of herself she had thought long banished, and facing loves from her past she never expected to see again. 

As Juliet strives to stop a killer while searching for a serum to cure her own worsening illness, she finds herself once more in the midst of a world of scandal and danger. Her heart torn in two, past bubbling to the surface, life threatened by an obsessive killer—Juliet will be lucky to escape alive. 




Review: At long last we return to the world of Juliet Moreau, and the experiments that survived and are now in the very heart of thriving society. The energy and tension are kicked up a notch in this captivating sequel. 

In the previous novel the characters were stranded on an island, cut off from the rest of the world as they were, it gave the atmosphere of the book a sort of otherworldy feel to it. In the sequel however we return to bustling London and a seemingly ordinary life for Juliet as she attends garden parties with her new guardian, the kindly old professor, and spends time visiting with her best friend Lucy to discuss Lucy's handsome gentleman callers. Yet at night things are not ordinary for Juliet. Her sickness is growing worse and she's running out of time. 

Just when you think you have the mystery figured out, Megan Shepherd pulls a rabbit from her hat and with excellent skill delivers a twist that you never saw coming. The characters have so many layers and unknown motives. Trust no one. Also, I really love the direction that the author took Edward in, very unexpected but totally right for him. Though the novel has its fare share of villians there are a few friendly and trustworthy faces between these pages. This series is young adult sci-fi romance at its best. A page turner with endless mystery. 

Oh, and these endings will be the death of me. Similar to the first book it's not quite a cliffhanger but still delicious suspense that leaves you begging for the next book.

I don't usually do this but seeing as how there is still so much we don't know and so many loose ends I've decided to make some predictions for the finale. They do contain spoilers for book two though so highlight if you dare.

1. Balthazar survives to the end of the series. I'm not sure why, I just feel that his character has grown in relevance so I think he'll make it.
2. Edward and Montgomery are stitched together, frankenstein's monster style to make one person who ends up with Juliet. This is mostly because many of the love triangles I have read lately had the MC end up with both guys somehow. 
3. I have a feeling that Juliet's father is alive, as well. 


In conclusion Her Dark Curiosity is a deliciously gothic romantic tale full of adventure and excitement and not to be missed.